Moms – Love Yourself

Image

I’m an optimistic, positive person, you know, the glass half-full type.  I do notice though, that I can be pretty hard on myself, especially when it comes to how I look in photographs.  Why?  I guess it’s the obvious stuff – a couple wrinkles here and there, some new strands of gray hair and a few extra pounds for starters.

When you look at yourself in a photo, what do you see?  Do you see a beautiful, talented, and hot mama or a tired stressed-out mom?  I guess much of how we feel about ourselves has to do with both internal and external forces.  Our mental images of ourselves can help determine how we react to many different things.  If we think of ourselves as worthwhile and valued, that quality will come across, not only in your posture and attitude, but also your photos.  However, if we feel overworked, tired and undervalued, we may have a warped perception of ourselves that usually only we see.

Think about how you would describe yourself to a stranger.  Would you emphasize your awesome sense of humor or physical features you’re fond of?  Or would you talk about your “trouble areas” or avoid the request altogether?”  Your answer largely depends on your mental image of yourself.

Why does it matter how you see yourself?  Well, because our children see what we do and they hear what we say (even though it may not always seem like they do – Ha!).  We work hard to teach our children to focus on the positive , yet we don’t always practice this way of thinking ourselves.  It is important that we, as Moms, emphasize what we’ve done “right” for a change.  If we see beyond our post-baby bods and tied-up, tousled hair, we might actually be able to see not only what amazing moms we’ve become, but also how truly beautiful we are, and how successful we are at balancing the duties of our everyday lives.  We do the jobs of dozens of different people each day – we’re pretty incredible when you think about it!

I have come to realize that, yes, I may be a little older and a little chubbier, but my life is exactly what I had always hoped for.  I am a loving mommy, a good wife, and a business owner.  In short,  I have a lot to be proud, as I’m sure you do as well.  So to all the Moms out there – see the good in what you do, and love yourself (both in life and in your photos).  You deserve it!

Leave a Reply

