Mother’s Day – A Personal Note

With Mother’s Day drawing near, I’ve been thinking about my mom quite a bit.  My mother and I have lots of physical similarities – our eyes, our silliness, our body type, our stubby fingers and my favorite – our crazy right eyebrow that curls upwards in all directions.  It’s pretty cool how we inherit little things from our parents, some subtle and some completely obvious; but, either way, we all have at least a little of our parents in us. 

My mom raised me and my siblings (3 of us) on her own.  She worked tirelessly to keep food on our table, keep clothes on our backs and keep love in our hearts.  She is an incredibly warm and caring person who is always willing to help another in need.  My Mom taught me more about love and compassion than could ever be taught in any book or classroom.  She is a decent, beautiful, sensitive, silly, tiny little fireplug of a woman, and I love every 4 feet 10 inches of her (yes, she really is that short!).  Coupled with all that sweetness, she is also armed with a little bit of “crazy Italian” and she knows how to use it.  When I was a kid, one “side-eye” look from Mom was all I needed to get myself in check and fast!  I’ve tried this technique with my kids, but I just don’t have the touch like she did.

I have so many wonderful memories of growing up with my Mom. 

  • The daily “wake up” kisses on my cheek each morning when she woke me for school
  • Gardening in her vegetable garden together
  • Her favorite Italian music playing on the record player every Sunday while we did our chores and she tangoed about our living room
  • Her long talks with me about how I could not bring EVERY stray animal home with me 🙂
  • And although she was the tiniest mom in the bleachers at all my softball games, she was not to be missed.  Cheering loudly, arms flying everywhere – she was quite a site! 

Mom, if you’re reading this, I just want you to know that I am grateful to have you as my Mother.  Your love and support through both the good and difficult times in my life has meant everything to me.  I never want to hear you get down on yourself for not being able to give us and our kids the things we want because you have given us so much more.  You gave us life, you gave us each other and you give us more love than we could ever ask for.  I will love you always ~ xoxo

Leave a Reply

