Remind Yourself | Chicago Child and Family Photographer

 How many times have you thought about starting a scrapbook of your child’s life?  Or have you already started one and just haven’t had the time to keep up on all those little details that make up your child’s every day?  How much of it have you forgotten along the way?  Believe me, I ask because I know your pain.  I struggle sometimes to keep up with all of it too.  Luckily, my career as a child and family photographer and my absolute love for photography in general has me carrying a camera or standing within reach of one 90% of the time.

Whenever my little ones have a new interest, learn
something new or are just being themselves, I am there to capture it.  I want to remember all the details that make them who they are – my daughter’s crazy tangled hair and how she pinches her stuffed bear’s ear between her little fingers, and my son’s gorgeous long eyelashes and the adorable shape of his mouth when he makes those funny sound effects while rolling his cars across our couch cushions.  I can’t get enough of it.  I pay attention to every detail swearing to remember it forever; and yet, a few months go by, and I’ve already forgotten much of it.  Here is where photography comes in
for me.

Photos are beautiful reminders of all those precious details, important moments and special times in your life and the
lives of your children.  You have the ability to freeze
moments in time, and keep them forever, and even better – help you to NEVER FORGET any of it.  They can show you where you’ve come from and how far you’ve come.  Photographs can tell your story in a way that no words can.  Am I making you a believer?  If not, here is a blog post I
came across recently that illustrated my point perfectly.  Check it out:  http://www.buzzfeed.com/txblacklabel/true-love-in-pictures-only-28m7.  Not child related, I know, but shows how a picture is worth 1000 words.

Now, am I proposing that every mom and dad carry a camera everywhere they go?  No, of course not.  I know it’s not practical to always be on top of this, especially in the busy lives of today’s parents.  But, maybe carry your camera along on a trip to the park or to your child’s favorite place.  Or, even better, you could hire a professional photographer (me 🙂  to come over for a “day in the life” type session where I photograph every detail you want captured – documentary style.  No posing, no fake smiles, just your child – exactly the way he/she is.  I have begun doing these types of sessions with my family, and I can’t tell you how much I’m loving the images that have come of it.  Doesn’t have to be children either, moms, dads, grandmas, whomever!

At the end of each year, I make a photo book with not just photos of my children, but sweet little collages of all their favorite things from that year as well.  I make sure to type descriptions of each item and add in a “Q&A” page as well.  You know, “what do you want to be when you grow up?” types of questions.  These books are a wonderful keepsake and a great way to showcase your child and the best way I’ve found to remember every detail. 

Cianne Mitchell Photography’s “day in the life” sessions will be announced later this year.  I hope that you will consider this option and let me help you preserve those memories forever.

Leave a Reply

