Letters to my Daughter | Chicago Children’s Photographer

I’m honored to be able to join a wonderful group of fellow mothers/photographers in a “Letters to our Children” blog circle. Each month I’ll write a letter to one of my children and sometimes to both of them together. This month is for my little Cici.

Happy Birthday my baby girl. Four years ago today, your Daddy and me saw your sweet face for the first time. Four years! They just flew by. We knew by the way you whooshed your way out of the womb and into our hearts, that you would be a force to be reckoned with – both tough and softhearted.

You are funny; really funny, and I love that about you. I find myself laughing several times a day just watching you and listening to what you have to say. It’s ironic because as a baby, it was tough to get you to smile. You would look at us as if to say, “you’re going to have to be funnier than that if you want a smile out of me.” We found your funny bone eventually, and now you’re a giggling, fun, silly little girl with a smile that can melt our hearts.

Today was the perfect day for you to turn 4. The weather was perfect, we spent time with family, played at the park and ate some yummy cake too. You had a very specific request for a pink cake with pink flowers on it. Thank you Marianos for having just that very cake for my girl and for putting sparkly frosting on it as well. It was beautiful and delicious and the flower candles were a nice touch too.

When you’re reading this later, you’ll probably wonder what presents you received, right? Well, the big one was your new bike! Pink, of course with a dragonfly on the front, a bell and training wheels. You also received a bow & arrow play set, a great book, lots of pretty clothes and a How to Train Your Dragon playset with Toothless and Hiccup figures.

You also had your last day of preschool this week, which was pretty awesome too.  I loved watching you sing French songs with your classmates. You were the most animated of all the kids and all the other parents were very entertained by your improv dance moves as well.

We had so much fun on your special day. I know you probably won’t remember it, but I’ll never forget your adorable little voice saying, “it’s my birthday Mommy! I’m 4 years old today!”

XOXO ~ Mommy

Chicago Child Photographer Chicago Children's Photographer Cici-3 CMPChildren-4 Cici-5

 

Cianne Mitchell Photography specializes in newborn, child, maternity and family photography in Chicago, IL and surrounding areas including the north and west suburbs of Chicago.

 

6 thoughts on “Letters to my Daughter | Chicago Children’s Photographer

  1. This is such a great idea to write a letter to your children. It would be so meaningful for them to read after they grow up. Wonderful memories. Happy birthday to your little girl!

Leave a Reply

